Unit Studies: The Nuts and Bolts Guide

Everything You Need to Know About Homeschool Unit Studies  -     By: Jennifer Steward

After visiting Laura Ingalls Wilder’s home, Rocky Ridge Farm my child wanted to do a unit study on her life/pioneer era. I had ordered a Laura Ingalls Wilder themed unit study which I was planning to use for the upcoming school year.  However, upon receiving the curriculum I was dismayed. The curriculum looked great on the internet, but the product I received was not all it was cracked up to be. I recalled from doing a previous internet search on unit studies that Jennifer Steward had authored a book about how to write your own unit studies. Upon returning the curriculum to the online retailer, I purchased a copy of Jennifer’s book to read.
“Everything You Need To Know About Homeschooling Unit Studies” is really a “nuts and bolts” manual taking you step by step through the process to create your own unit study. Jennifer talks to you in an easy, conversational tone on the topics of “Choosing A Teaching Method, Get On Your Mark…Get Set…Go!, Planning Unit Studies, Books, Unit Studies and High School, and There’s Still More!” The appendix includes a resource section, sample unit studies and planning sheets.Overall I am very pleased with this book.I just wish I would have discovered it sooner!
Kathy Alphs
http://www.christianbook.com/everything-know-about-homeschool-unit-studies/jennifer-steward/9780977044405/pd/7044405?product_redirect=1&Ntt=7044405&item_code=&Ntk=keywords&event=ESRCP#customer_reviews

Leave a Reply

